



MEDIA RELEASE 06/06/2025 | GTNT GROUP AWARDS

GTNT Group celebrated Territory successes on Friday, 6th of June, holding their annual Awards Ceremony under the stars at Mindil Beach Casino Resort. The awards celebrate the achievements of our GTNT Group apprentices, trainees, students, supervisors and host businesses as well as 36 years of employing and supporting thousands of apprentices and trainees and partnering with host businesses across the Northern Territory.

Anthony Lew-Fatt from Cultural Journeys opened the evening with a respectful Acknowledgement of Country. GTNT Group CEO - Kathryn Stenson welcomed guests, highlighting that the Awards Ceremony is about recognising, rewarding and celebrating the achievements of our local Territory talent and those businesses that partner with GTNT Group to provide opportunities for Territorians! Master of Ceremonies, Amy Hetherington kept guest entertained facilitating the night with humour.

This year's event was well supported with memorable night for the 450 guests attending. The event had a great representation of the Northern Territory, from 17-year-old apprentices and trainees to a pool of mature apprentices, coming from Groote Eylandt, Tennant Creek, Katherine, Alice Springs, Yulara and of course Darwin to celebrate the night together.

Guest speakers included the Chief Minister of the Northern Territory, the Honourable Lia Finocchiaro, Hon. Jo Hersey -Minister for Education and Training, CEO of GTNT Group- Kathryn Stenson, Platinum sponsor, Dean Calvert – CEO of Calvert Technologies, Alex and Jacq from HOT100 and GTNT Group Board Chairman – Christopher Lay.

Other **special guests** welcomed were:

- His Honour Professor the Honourable Hugh Heggie AO PSM, Administrator of the Northern Territory
- Chief Minister of the Northern Territory, the Honourable Lia Finocchiaro
- Hon Jo Hersey Minister for Education and Training
- Hon Robyn Cahill OAM Minister for Trade, Business and Asian Relations; International Education and Workforce Development
- Laurie Zio MLA Member for Fannie Bay





- Luke Gosling OAM, MP Federal Member for Solomon
- Hon Kon Vatskalis Lord Mayor of Darwin
- Cathy White Deputy Chief Executive for Department of Education and Training
- Mr Bagus Hendraning KOBARSIH Consul of the Republic of Indonesia NT
- Prof Scott Bowman AO Vice-Chancellor and President of Charles Darwin University
- Craig Westwood Executive Officer Apprentice Employment Network QLD & NT
- Athina Pascoe-Bell City of Palmerston Mayor
- Kate Heelan Chair of Australia Indonesia Business Council NT
- Don Zoellner Honorary Fellow, Charles Darwin University
- GTNT Group Board Chairman Christopher Lay; and the GTNT Group Board of Directors

The Awards Ceremony consisted of 12 categories with 49 finalists. Abbe Ayres was named the winner of the '2025 GTNT Group Apprentice of the Year'. She has completed her Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician alongside a Certificate III and IV in Instrumentation and Control, making her a dual qualified tradeswoman. She is hosted to South32-GEMCO on Groote Eylandt. The '2025 GTNT Group Trainee of the Year' was won by Tahnee Henderson who completed a Certificate III in Business, hosted to Charles Darwin University. The '2025 GTNT Group Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year' was won by Kathleen (Kit) Hawes who completed her Certificate IV in Training and Assessment, hosted to Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia in Yulara. Territory Generation were awarded the '2025 GTNT Group Host Business of the Year – Large Employer' and the '2025 GTNT Group Host Business of the Year – Small Employer' was awarded to Asbuild NT. These businesses were celebrated for their demonstrated dedication to delivering quality training programs to suit the needs of our apprentices.

Throughout the evening GTNT Group thanked the event sponsors: Calvert Technologies, Hot100, Mindil Beach Casino Resort, The NT News, Master Builders NT, Charles Darwin University, NEC, MATES in Construction, Bridge Toyota, Chamber of Commerce NT, Nyirrunggulung-RISE and Rotary Darwin District 9560. As well as category sponsors: Charles Darwin University TAFE, Cultural Journeys, ISACNT, Kinetic IT, Power and Water Corporation, NAWIC NT, NT Powerlines and Electrical, Northern Territory Government, Shell Australia, Territory Generation, WANT Training Services, YouthWorX NT. Prize sponsors were thanked for their generous contributions: North Australia Media and Mindil Beach Casino Resort.

GTNT Group would like to congratulate all 2025 finalists and winners and wish them the very best for their careers and future endeavours!

Quotes:

GTNT Group CEO – Kathryn Stenson

"With 450 guests in attendance, it was a fantastic celebration of the talent, dedication and determination we see right across the Territory. It was especially rewarding to have so many industry leaders and dignitaries join us in recognising the achievements of apprentices, trainees and the businesses that support them."

Chief Minister of the Northern Territory, the Honourable Lia Finocchiaro

"What an honour to speak at the GTNT Group Awards Night. Huge congratulations to all the finalists, and a special shoutout to Abbe Ayres from GEMCO, Groote Eylandt, who took home the title of GTNT Apprentice of the Year."

- + Download the Program on our website
- + Photos available on Dropbox
- + Listen to the Awards Night Spotify Playlists Finalists Playlist | Awards Night Playlist





Below is a summary of the 2025 Category Winners:

CATEGORY	NAME	QUALIFICATION	HOST BUSINESS
Apprentice of the Year	Abbe Ayres	Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician & Certificate III and IV in Instrumentation and Control	South32-GEMCO (Groote Eylandt)
Trainee of the Year	Tahnee Henderson	Certificate III in Business	Charles Darwin University
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student of the Year	Kathleen (Kit) Hawes	Certificate IV in Training and Assessment	Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia (Yulara)
Host Business of the Year - Large Employer	Territory Generation		
Host Business of the Year - Small Employer	Asbuild NT		
Supervisor of the Year	Matthew Blankenspoor	Territory Generation	
School-Based Apprentice/Trainee of the Year	Aaron Cochrane	Certificate III in Automotive Electrical Technology	CSA Auto Electrics and Air-conditioning (Katherine)
Shell Prelude to the Future Apprentice of the Year	Ethan Bush	Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician	Scott Services Pty Ltd
Outstanding Apprentice – Stage 1	George Beattie	Certificate III in Light Vehicle Mechanical Technology	Bridge Toyota
Outstanding Apprentice – Stage 2	Damien Aarons	Certificate III in ESI - Power Systems - Distribution Overhead	Power and Water Corporation
Outstanding Apprentice – Stage 3	Sidney Huggett	Certificate III in Engineering - Mechanical Trade	South32 - GEMCO
Institute of Skills and Training Australia – Student of the Year	Helena Gallagher	Certificate III in Business	GTNT Group
Most Outstanding Female in the Construction Industry	Georgina Siebert	Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician	Power and Water Corporation
Commendation Awards			
Hot100 Rising Star Commendation Award	Kaylisha Mamarika	Certificate III in Retail	South32 - GEMCO
Calvert Commendation Award	Keigan Blake	Certificate III in Mobile Plant Technology	Gebie Civil and Construction (Groote Eylandt)
GTNT Foundation Commendation Award	Jack Rentsch	Certificate III in ESI - Power Systems - Distribution Overhead	Power and Water (Tennant Creek)

For additional information, please contact:

Josie Trayte | Marketing Manager | M: 0447 736 924 Lené Vosloo | Marketing Coordinator | M: 0448 157 098

E: marketing@gtntgroup.com.au



